Richard Branson & Wine

With the Mont Rochelle – one of the Virgin Limited Edition retreats – Virgin founder Richard Branson operates a luxury hotel for gourmets and wine connoisseurs in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Franschhoek is a traditional vineyard town in the Western Cape Province and is considered to be the food and wine capital of South Africa.

Here, visitors can enjoy the local wines with a gourmet meal or picnic in a luxurious atmosphere framed by a stunning vista or a wine tasting sessions in the 150-year-old wine cellar, a former fruit packing shed. Today, the Mont Rochelle team processes 150 tonnes of grapes each season.

And if that’s not enough, visitors can explore the region’s wineries on the “Franschhoek Wine Tram”.

Wine hotel and restaurant

With so much wine, don’t forget to dine: for example on the terrace of the Country Kitchen restaurant – conveniently right next to the wine cellar – where specialities like Franschhoek trout pâté and Klein Karoo ostrich carpaccio are served.

You can also enjoy a picnic in a quiet spot on the estate, or dine at MIKO restaurant, where South African dishes featuring Cape Malay spices, rooibos and buch are on the menu.

Relax holidays in Franschhoek

Apart from enjoying a glass of wine, you can take a dip in the pool, relax in the hammam and indulge in an Africology spa treatment. To get active, hit the gym, visit the croquet and tennis courts, explore one of the countless golf courses or check out the hiking and mountain biking opportunities in the immediate area.

Mont Rochelle Chardonnay

Character/Description

This fruity European-style Chardonnay impresses with its light yellow colour and its aroma of exotic fruits, vanilla and roasted aromas. Medium-bodied, it is rich and complex with a balanced acidity. On the nose it shows aromas of caramel, marzipan and lemon cream and on the palate nuances of citrus and stone fruit. Refreshingly long-lasting finish. A classic French style Chardonnay.

Wine Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon 2016
Winery Mont Rochelle
Region Franschhoek | South Africa
Appellation Veneto
Category  White wine
Grape variety(ies) Chardonnay
Taste Dry
Tannins Soft/velvety
Barrel maturation 50 % of the wine was matured for 8 months in French oak barrels –75 % in second fill, the rest in third and fourth fill. The remaining 50 % was matured in steel tanks.
Content 750 ml
Alcohol 13 %
EU organic farming Bio-Wein

1790
Lagernd
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
Add To Cart
Ready to ship immediately, delivery time 3-10 days - plus shipping costs - from 99€ free shipping - price includes VAT.

Miko Red Syrah

Character/Description

The Mont Rochelle Miko Red is a tribute to Miko Rwayitare, the first black owner of a vineyard in South Africa. This Syrah is only produced in particularly good vintages and perfectly reflects its terroir. Already convincing in its bouquet, this red wine,  with its complex play of aromas of dark fruits, cloves, pepper and black olives, fully unfolds its elegance on the palate. The supple tannins and the beautiful fruit notes also contribute to its elegance. Matured for 24 months in barrique the Mont Rochelle Miko Red is a pleasure drunk by itself, but also pairs excellently with hearty dishes of dark meat and game.

Wine Miko Red Syrah 2010
Winery Mont Rochelle
Region Franschhoek | South Africa
Appellation Franschhoek
Category Red wine
Grape variety(ies) Syrah
Taste Dry
Tannins Soft/velvety
Barrel maturation 24 months in french oak
Content 750 ml
Alcohol 15 %
EU organic farming Bio-Wein

5490
Lagernd
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
Add To Cart
Ready to ship immediately, delivery time 3-10 days - plus shipping costs - from 99€ free shipping - price includes VAT.

Miko White Chardonnay

Character/Description

A gloriously full-bodied wine with a straw-yellow colour, boasting beautiful aromas of stone fruit with fresh citrus and lime notes, orange and butterscotch. A complex and multilayered wine with elegant roasted aromas accompanying the full-bodied and long-lasting finish. Complex and elegant vanilla tones, truly extraordinary.

Wine Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon 2016
Winery Mont Rochelle
Region Franschhoek | South Africa
Appellation Franschhoek
Category White wine
Grape variety(ies) Chardonnay | Viognier
Taste Dry
Tannins Soft/velvety
Barrel maturation 18 months in French oak barrels (90 % new barrique and 10 % second and third filling) plus 5 months in bottles
Content 750 ml
Alcohol 13 %
EU organic farming Bio-Wein

3840
Lagernd
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
Add To Cart
Ready to ship immediately, delivery time 3-10 days - plus shipping costs - from 99€ free shipping - price includes VAT.

Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon

Character/Description

The Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon shows a beautiful ruby red colour in the glass. This classic red wine is characterised by an extremely beautiful tannin structure. Notes of eucalyptus, cassis and blackcurrant shape its character, while the play of aromas is perfectly rounded off by smoky undertones. Matured for 18 months in French oak, the Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon captivates with a wonderful balance of opulent fruit, well-integrated acidity and silky tannins on the palate.

Wine Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon 2016
Winery Mont Rochelle
Region Franschhoek | South Africa
Appellation Franschhoek
Category Red wine
Grape variety(ies) Cabernet Sauvignon
Taste Dry
Tannins Soft/velvety
Barrel maturation 18 months in French oak
Content 750 ml
Alcohol 14 %
EU organic farming Bio-Wein

2280
Lagernd
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
Add To Cart
Ready to ship immediately, delivery time 3-10 days - plus shipping costs - from 99€ free shipping - price includes VAT.

“Miko” taster pack

Character/Description

Miko White Chardonnay

A gloriously full-bodied wine with a straw-yellow colour, boasting beautiful aromas of stone fruit with fresh citrus and lime notes, orange and butterscotch. A complex and multilayered wine with elegant roasted aromas accompanying the full-bodied and long-lasting finish. Complex and elegant vanilla tones, truly extraordinary.

Miko Red

The Mont Rochelle Miko Red is a tribute to Miko Rwayitare, the first black owner of a vineyard in South Africa. This Syrah is only produced in particularly good vintages and perfectly reflects its terroir. Already convincing in its bouquet, this red wine,  with its complex play of aromas of dark fruits, cloves, pepper and black olives, fully unfolds its elegance on the palate. The supple tannins and the beautiful fruit notes also contribute to its elegance. Matured for 24 months in barrique the Mont Rochelle Miko Red is a pleasure drunk by itself, but also pairs excellently with hearty dishes of dark meat and game.

Falstaff

Miko White Chardonnay
Miko Red

Wines Miko White Chardonnay | Miko Red
Winery Mont Rochelle
Region Franschhoek | South Africa
Taste Dry
Content 2 x 750 ml
Alcohol 13 % | 15 %
EU organic farming Bio-Wein

8850
Lagernd
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
Add To Cart
Ready to ship immediately, delivery time 3-10 days - plus shipping costs - from 99€ free shipping - price includes VAT.

Franschhoek

During apartheid, Franschhoek was just one area within the much larger Paarl region and ultimately constrained to mass production. Franschhoek is complex, and the region’s authenticity, and with that its identity, can be found only in its disparity. For a region that comprises only 1225 hectares of vineyards – less than the Austrian Wachau region – identifying important factors for viticulture should not be too complex. But the reality is quite different, for a variety of reasons. The Franschhoek wine region lies in a broad valley, bordered on three sides by tall mountains. The landscape leaves visitors amazed and winegrowers pondering, as they have to deal with a variety of soils, exposures and climates due to the different topographies. For example, in the south-western part of the region, where the Groot Drakensberge meet the Franschhoek Mountains, it can rain up to 2000 mm a year, while in the valley beyond there is often only 400 mm of rainfall. Equally varied are the geological conditions: While the valley floors are mostly sedimentary, the slopes consist mainly of weathered granite and sandstone. Climatic differences between the plain and the mountainous areas provide another piece of the puzzle that is this small region.
Franschhoek – the name literally means “French Corner” – has, since 1688, been shaped by the Huguenots, with French names and French grape varieties alike dominant in the region. Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon set the tone, joined by Chenin Blanc and Viognier, Merlot,  Syrah and – most notably – Semillon, for which Franschhoek is said to have the perfect growing conditions.

 

x
0
    0

Richard Branson & Wein

Der Virgin-Gründer Richard Branson hat sich in Franschoek in Südafrika ein Hotel und Restaurant für Gourmets und Weinkenner geleistet. Idyllisch ist es, dieses MONT ROCHELLE – Virgin Limited Hotel, umgeben von Bergen und Weinreben. Und ein Restaurant-Paradies für Feinschmecker und Weingenießer.

Das Weintrinken gehört hier quasi zum Tagesritual, sei es beim Mittagessen, Picknicken oder bei Weinverkostungen im 150-Jahre-alten Weinkeller. Der war früher ein Obst-Packschuppen. Heute verarbeitet des Mont Rochelle – Team hier pro Saison 150 Tonnen Trauben.

Wer noch mehr Wein probieren will, hantelt sich von hier aus mit der „Franschhoek Wine Tram“ von Weingut zu Weingut.

zu Weingut

Weinhotel und Restaurant

Bei so viel Wein sollte man nicht aufs Essen vergessen: auf der Terrasse der Country Kitchen, praktischerweise gleich neben dem Weinkeller, wo Spezialitäten wie Franschhoek Forellen-Pastete und Klein Karoo Strauß-Carpaccio am Teller liegen.

Bei einem Picknick an einem stillen Plätzchen auf dem Gut. Oder im Restaurant Miko, in dem südafrikanische Gerichte mit Cape Malay Gewürzen, Rooibos und Buch auf der Karte stehen.

Genuss-Urlaub in Franschhoek

Außer Weintrinken wird untertags im Pool geschwommen und im Hammam und bei Africology Spa-Behandlungen entspannt. Ein Fitness-Studio, Krocket und Tennisplätze gibt es auch, sowie unzählige Golfplätze und Wander- und Mountainbike-Möglichkeiten in der direkten Umgebung.

Mont Rochelle Chardonnay

Charakter/Beschreibung:

Dieser fruchtige Chardonnay im europäischen Stil besticht durch seine hellgelbe Farbe, sein Aroma nach exotischen Früchten, Vanille und Röstaromen. Er hat einen mittelkräftigen Körper, ist reich und komplex mit einem balancierten Säurespiel. In der Nase zeigt er Aromen nach Karamell, Marzipan und Zitronencrème und am Gaumen Nuancen von Zitrus- und Steinfrucht auf. Erfrischend langanhaltender Abgang. Ein Chardonnay nach klassisch, französischem Stil.

WeinMont Rochelle Chardonnay 2019
WeingutMont Rochelle
RegionFranschhoek | Südafrika
AppellationVenetien
KategorieWeißwein
Rebsorte(n)Chardonnay
Geschmacktrocken
Tannineweich/samtig
Barrique50 % des Weines wurden 8 Monate im französischen Eichenfass gereift (75% in zweiter Füllung, der Rest in dritter und vierter Füllung). Die restlichen 50% wurden im Stahltank ausgebaut.
Inhalt750 ml
Alkoholgehalt13%
EU BIO Siegel Bio-Wein

1790
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
In den Warenkorb
Sofort versandfertig, Lieferfrist 3-10 Tage · zzgl. Versandkosten · ab 99€ kostenloser Versand · Preis inkl. MwSt.

Miko Weiß Chardonnay

Charakter/Beschreibung:

Ein herrlich fülliger Wein mit strohgelber Farbe. Schöne Steinfruchtaromen. Frische Zitrus- und Kalktöne. Orange und Butterscotch. Komplex und vielschichtig. Elegante Röstaromen begleiten den fülligen und langanhaltenden Nachhall. Komplexe und elegante Vanilletöne. Außergewöhnlich.

WeinMiko Weiß Chardonnay 2016
WeingutMont Rochelle
RegionFranschhoek | Südafrika
AppellationFranschhoek
KategorieWeißwein
Rebsorte(n)Chardonnay
Viognier
Geschmacktrocken
Tannineweich/samtig
Barrique18 Monate im französischen Eichenfass, davon 90% Neus Barrique und 10% zweite und dritte Füllung, dazu kommen noch 5 Monate in der Flasche
Inhalt750 ml
Alkoholgehalt13%
EU BIO Siegel Bio-Wein

3840
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
In den Warenkorb
Sofort versandfertig, Lieferfrist 3-10 Tage · zzgl. Versandkosten · ab 99€ kostenloser Versand · Preis inkl. MwSt.

Miko Red Syrah

Charakter/Beschreibung:

Der Mont Rochelle Miko Red ist eine Hommage an Miko Rwayitare, dem ersten schwarzen Besitzer eines Weinberges in Südafrika. Dieser Syrah wird nur in besonders guten Jahrgängen hergestellt und spiegelt sein Terroir auf perfekte Weise wider. Mit seinem komplexen Aromenspiel aus dunklen Früchten, Nelken, Pfeffer und schwarzen Oliven überzeugt der Rotwein schon im Bouquet und entfaltet am Gaumen seine ganze Eleganz. Hierzu tragen auch die geschmeidigen Tannine und die schönen Fruchtnoten bei. Der Mont Rochelle Miko Red reifte 24 Monate im Barrique und ist für sich allein schon ein Genuss. Er begleitet aber auch herzhafte Gerichte mit dunklem Fleisch und Wild ganz hervorragend.

WeinMiko Rot 2010
WeingutMont Rochelle
RegionFranschhoek | Südafrika
AppellationFranschhoek
KategorieRotwein
Rebsorte(n)Syrah
Geschmacktrocken
Tannineweich/samtig
Barrique24 Monate
Inhalt750 ml
Alkoholgehalt15%
EU BIO Siegel Bio-Wein

5490
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
In den Warenkorb
Sofort versandfertig, Lieferfrist 3-10 Tage · zzgl. Versandkosten · ab 99€ kostenloser Versand · Preis inkl. MwSt.

Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon

Charakter/Beschreibung:

Der Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon fließt in einem wunderschönen Rubinrot in das Glas des Genießers. Der klassische Rotwein zeichnet sich durch eine äußerst schöne Tanninstruktur aus. Noten von Eukalyptus, Cassis und schwarzer Johannisbeere prägen seinen Charakter, während rauchige Untertöne das Aromenspiel ideal abrunden. Am Gaumen besticht der Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon, der 18 Monate in französischer Eiche reifte, mit einer herrlichen Balance aus opulenter Frucht, gut eingebundener Säure und seidigen Tanninen.

WeinMont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon 2016
WeingutMont Rochelle
RegionFranschhoek | Südafrika
AppellationFranschhoek
KategorieRotwein
Rebsorte(n)Cabernet Sauvignon
Geschmacktrocken
Tannineweich/samtig
Barrique18 Monate in französischer Eiche
Inhalt750 ml
Alkoholgehalt14%
EU BIO Siegel Bio-Wein

2280
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
In den Warenkorb
Sofort versandfertig, Lieferfrist 3-10 Tage · zzgl. Versandkosten · ab 99€ kostenloser Versand · Preis inkl. MwSt.

Franschhoek

Franschhoek war zu Zeiten der Apartheid nur ein Bestandteil innerhalb der viel größeren Region Paarl und letztlich dazu verdammt, einfach nur Masse zu produzieren. Franschhoek ist in sich derart komplex, dass die Authentizität der Region und folglich ihre Identität vermutlich in ihrer Uneinheitlichkeit zu suchen ist. Bei einer Region, die gerade einmal 1225 Hektar an Weingärten umfasst und folglich kleiner ist als die Wachau, sollte die Suche nach vinologischen Spezifika eigentlich kein großes Problem darstellen. Die Realität sieht freilich anders aus und die Gründe dafür sind vielfältig. Das Weinbaugebiet Franschhoek erstreckt sich durch ein weites Tal, das an drei Seiten von enormen Bergformationen begrenzt wird. Der Anblick lässt Besucher staunen und Winzer grübeln, haben sie es doch durch die unterschiedlichen Topographien mit einer Vielfalt an Böden, Expositionen und Klimata zu tun. So kann es beispielsweise im südwestlichen Teil der Region, dort wo die Groot Drakensberge mit den Franschhoek Mountains zusammentreffen bis zu 2000 mm im Jahr regnen, während man im dahinterliegenden Tal oft nur 400 mm Niederschlag abbekommt. Ähnlich divers sind die geologischen Voraussetzungen. Während die Talböden größtenteils von Sedimenten geprägt sind, bestehen die Hanglagen vorwiegend aus verwittertem Granit und Sandstein. Klimatische Unterschiede zwischen der Ebene und den Berglagen sorgen für einen weiteren Mosaikstein im großen Bild der kleinen Region.
Franschhoek – wörtlich übersetzt Franzosenecke – ist seit jeher (1688) von den Hugenotten geprägt, französische Namen allerorten, französische Rebsorten ebenso. Chardonnay und Cabernet Sauvignon geben den Ton an, dazu gesellen sich aber auch Chenin Blanc und Viognier, Merlot und Syrah, vor allem aber Semillon, von dem man sagt, dass er nirgendwo so ideale Voraussetzungen findet wie in Franschhoek.

x
0
    0